A Tale for the Time Being

A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki

First Sentence:     Hi!

Back of the book:

Within the pages of this book lies the diary of a girl called Nao. Riding the waves of a tsunami, it is making its way across the ocean. It will change the life of the person who finds it. It might just change yours, too.

Quotes from the book:

‘I believe it doesn’t matter what it is, as long as you can find something concrete to keep you busy while you are living your meaningless life.’

I was still thinking about what she said about waves, and it made me sad because I knew that her little wave was not going to last much longer and soon she would join the sea again, and even though I know you can’t hold on to water, still I gripped her little fingers a little more tightly to keep her from leaking away.

‘Sometimes when she told stories about the past her eyes would get teary from all the memories she had, but they weren’t tears. She wasn’t crying. They were just the memories, leaking out.’

She says the mark of new cool is no hits for your name. No hits is the mark of how deeply unfamous you are, because true freedom comes from being unknown.

‘I have to hurry up and write them down before I forget. I have a pretty good memory, but memories are time beings, too, like cherry blossoms or ginkgo leaves; for a while they are beautiful, and then they fade and die.’

* * * *

Last Sentence:     How did you know?

