Cloud Atlas

David Mitchell

First Sentence: Thursday 7th November –

Beyond the Indian hamlet, upon a forlorn strand, I happened on a trail of recent footprints.

There’s not really much I can say about this book that hasn’t been said before, but suffice it to say that this is my favourite book by my favourite author, so I thought it best to get it listed as early as possible on this site. (And also, it provided the inspiration for the blogs’ name.) I’ve read it several times now and each time is a real treat. For those of you that have read it a wealth of additional info can be found here, and for those that haven’t, what’s keeping you? If by page 100 you’re not gripped, then maybe this book’s just not for you. If, however, like me you get sucked in, it will be a reading experience you’ll find hard to repeat and impossible to forget.

* * * * *

Last Sentence: Yet what is any ocean but a multitude of drops?

Last Sentence explained: Not really much to explain here as each of the six nested narratives reach their own separate conclusions, so I guess the final question just reinforces the feeling that all of these stories combine to create a greater whole.  The six stories themselves can be enjoyed on several different levels and it is the subtle references and links scattered between each tale that I found to be the most enjoyable aspect of this book. Cloud Atlas is most definitely an ocean of stories and each and every drop is a delight to behold. I  love this book.


